Star Trek Enterprise Season 1 – Review

Enterprise season 1 when it first aired didn’t click with me, I dont know why exactly it may have been due to franchise fatigue seeing as i had watched star trek solidly for years in the past following Voyager all the way through & DS9, and even when i first heard the idea of Enterprise it really didn’t appeal to me in fact I thought it sucked I wanted to go further into the future to the 27 centuery, however i feel that if i was the age I am now I would love the idea. I did watch most of the series however I had forgotten large parts of the series.

When watching through this all again I was actually really enjoying it so much so that I want to plough through the other series, I found the quality of the episode to be mostly good, their is nothing really stand out about the season but they are largely enjoyable and it never feels a slog, their are a few episode where you can notice a dip in quality. My personal favorite episode are normally the ones in which the andorians are around mainly for the coombs factor. They do try and do some over reaching story arcs mainly involving the temporal cold wars now these story elements normally get a lot of hate from people however I secretly enjoy most stories involving time travel especially from the far future.

I would have liked to have seen some more charecter development in the show, it does feel very compact around the main three charecters in the series mirroring the original series however it does feel like I hardly know some characters such as Travis apart from the generic small bits of information such as how he was born on a transporter but you never get a sense of who he is. and perhaps this is where Enterprise mainly falls down, where as in shows like TNG & DS9 there was great character exploration in Enterprise I am never given that sense.

Visually the series is still as appealing as ever it always used to make me chuckle and still does that the series that is set furthest back in the past does look the best. but it is explained in one of the enterprise novels why their is a downgrade in looks of technology, however their is no real idea why suddenly the womens uniform swapped from a normal jumpsuit to a dress.

I have found this series to be very enjoyable and fun and much better than I remember it to be and I am really looking forward to getting the next series.

Leave a comment